Skip to content

The Rocket Steam Locomotive Modeling Tutorial COMPLETED!

April 18, 2011

Finally!

After some time working on this tutorial this past week, I finally have finished it.  The tutorial was very intuitive and though I could have completed it in less time modeling it on my own terms, I learned a lot of really cool tricks/features of Blender 2.57.  Here is the finished result with no textures or animation:

The next tutorial I will be working on will be to animate this model.  The tutorial allowed me to set constraints to the wheels and to the pistons so that animating should be a breeze.  I’m really enjoying Blender and can’t wait to finish these wonderful lessons.  You can find the link to the tutorial online (even though I downloaded the “Teach me 3D Design with Blender 3D 2.5” app files) here:

3D Design Course

Let me know what you think!

Jeremy Deighan

From → Practice

11 Comments
  1. Natasha Rivero permalink

    Wow!! Great job! Looks so real, love the detail work!! Can’t wait to see more!

  2. Andy permalink

    There is an error in that tutorial. There should only be flanges on one side of each wheel (inside the track). Any train with wheels like that would de-rail when it came to a curve.

  3. @ Hans

    Thanks!

    @ Andy

    Sounds good. Do you have any reference images of what you’re talking about? I do have plans to work on it a little more but I have been trying other tutorials recently. Right now it’s good practice but if I ever use it in an animation I would like for it to be correct. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Very sweet, thanks for the pic. Looks like a cool place to work too. Were the original locomotives also built like this, even the steam ones?

  5. Andy permalink

    All train wheels have a flange on one side only. This goes back before steam to the days of horse drawn rail carts on wagonways.
    Also, this version of the Rocket should have the cylinders at a 35 degree. When Stephenson lowered them to the horizontal he totally remodelled the loco, especially the front of the boiler. A quick Google will bring up images of both designs.

  6. That’s cool about the flanges, I never knew that. But I don’t come from a place that’s heavy on rail road and subway systems either so it’s good to know.

    It’s been weeks since I did the tutorial but I do think he said that he wasn’t going to model them at the 35 degree angle for a reason. Maybe ease of modelling or something but I remember there being a disclaimer. Haha.

    Jeremy

  7. Dan Lizada permalink

    hello Jeremy!!

    I’m noob here … and I’m trying this tutorial but i’m lost on this one:

    On the .PDF tutorial says:
    “In the modeling tutorial we created a number of Empty objects that will be used as animation controls.

    The Drive Chain Empty controls the rotational movement of the engine drive train. The Wheel Empty, Wheel Empty.001 and Wheel Empty.002 controls the rotation movement of the remaining sets on wheels.

    We need to add a few more empty objects to the scene, which will aid in the animation.

    Select the Control BOX object. Press SHIFT-CTRL-ALT-C and select origin to
    geometry. This will place the origin point of the control box in the center of the control box object.”

    my question is…
    At what scene must I select first before Pressing SHIFT-CTRL-ALT-C ??

    The Drive Chain Empty?
    The Wheel Empty?
    Wheel Empty.001?
    or Wheel Empty.002?

    because when I erased the Lamp, there is no scene selected and the Object box is not visible…
    Pardon me if ask too many questions but i really want to learn..
    Thanks and more power!!

    Dan – Manila, Philippines

  8. Dan Lizada permalink

    I got it from the other forum!!
    I’m not paying attention at Control Box Object scene….

    Thanks anyway

    • Sorry I wasn’t able to respond sooner, I’m not in front of the computer right now. But feel free to ask any questions you have and let’s see the finished product when you are done!

Leave a Reply

